Gail Carriger PhotoGail Carriger's Brass ParasolGail Carriger
Please Enable Javascript!

Release Dates, Foreign Editions, & Translations

Would you like to buy foreign translations? Gail donates hers to Worldbuilders.

North American Release Dates ~ Little, Brown Books for Young Readers US

Etiquette & Espionage ~ Feb. 5, 2013
Curtsies & Conspiracies ~ Nov. 5, 2013
Waistcoats & Weaponry ~ Nov. 4, 2014
Manners & Mutiny ~ Nov. 3, 2015

Foreign Rights

UK Commonwealth ~ Atom
Etiquette & Espionage ~ Feb. 5, 2013
Curtsies & Conspiracies ~ Nov. 5, 2013
Waistcoats & Weaponry ~ Nov. 4, 2014
Manners & Mutiny ~ Nov. 3, 2015

Croatia ~ Skolska knjiga, Lumen imprint, Zagreb
(Etiquette & Espionage) ~ release date unknown


Czech Republic ~ Albatros Media/CooBoo, Prague
Slovakia ~ Albatros Media/CooBoo, Bratislava
Etiketa & Spionáz ~ out
Poklony & Sprisahania (Curtsies & Conspiracies) ~ out
Úklony & Úklady (Curtsies & Conspiracies) ~ out
Gail appologizes but the paperwork for these two publishers gets very confusing. They both show up as CooBoo and we don't know which titles are in which language.

France ~ Orbit
Étiquette & Espionnage ~ out
Corsets & Complots ~ out


Japan ~ Hayakawa
(Etiquette & Espionage) ~ out
(Curtsies & Conspiracies) ~ out
(Waistcoats & Weaponry) ~ out

Turkey ~ pending furhter info
(Etiquette & Espionage) ~ release date unknown
(Curtsies & Conspiracies) ~ release date unknown

Other territories to come? Email your favorite publisher to find out.


Finishing School Extra Bits

The Finishing School book trailer!

* 12 Days of Finishing School

* Etiquette & Espionage ~ Miscellany & Minutia

* 10 Questions About Etiquette & Espionage, Answered


* Etiquette & Espionage ~ FAQ the Second

* Etiquette & Espionage ~ On NYT

* Etiquette & Espionage ~ Reviews & Praise


* Etiquette & Espionage ~ The Cover Copy!

* Etiquette & Espionage ~ Book Trailer & Tumbler

* Etiquette & Espionage ~ Reviews versus 1872 Godey's Reviews

The Curtsies & Conspiraces music video!

* Curtsies & Conspiracies Music Video ~ Behind the Scenes

* 6 Questions About Curtsies & Conspiracies ~ Answered


* Curtsies & Conspiracies ~Release Blog Post

* Curtsies & Conspiracies ~ Pre Release and FAQ Info


* Sophronia's Moors (featuring Gail's photos of Dartmoor)

* Peek at Sophronia's Dress Design Process

* Behind the research for Sophronia and her sisters


* Manners & Mutiny ~ 1850s Fashion Mocked in the Press

* Victorian Clothing Terms Used in the Finishing School Books & What They Mean

* Some Thoughts on Fashion in the Finishing School Books

* Manners & Mutin Extras ~ Women's Education

* All Finished Young Ladies Have Chatelaines

* But What Were Bunson's Boys Wearing?

Praise for the Finishing School Series

Etiquette & Espionage

"Carriger's YA debut brings her mix of Victorian paranormal steampunk and winning heroines to a whole new audience...with cleverly Victorian methods of espionage, witty banter, lighthearted silliness, and a ship full of intriguingly quirky people."
~ Booklist (starred review)

"Carriger deploys laugh-out-loud bon mots on nearly every page...Amid all the fun, the author works in commentary on race and class in a sparkling start to the Finishing School series."
~ Publishers Weekly (starred review)

"[A] delightfully madcap espionage adventure..."
~ Kirkus Reviews (starred review)

"Blending intrigue and elements of the school story, Carriger introduces teen readers to a supernatural-meets-steampunk world full of action and wit."
~ Horn Book

Curtsies & Conspiracies

"Fans of Etiquette & Espionage (Little, Brown, 2013) know that Mademoiselle Geraldine’s Finishing Academy for Young Ladies of Quality is not your typical boarding school. Sophronia is now in her second year of training as a spy and has established herself as one of the top recruits, at least in terms of espionage, and her suspicious nature continues to drive her as she uses her skills and training to uncover the true reason behind the school trip to London. Carriger does not reintroduce characters or give any backstory; instead she jumps right into the thick of the action, developing a fast-paced plot that is sure to keep readers’ attention as Sophronia discovers a conspiracy involving a technology that will affect vampires, werewolves, and humans alike. New characters and the introduction of boys onto a floating airship full of teenage girls gives this adventure/mystery an interesting steampunk twist. As in the first novel, the true-to-the-period language may slow down some readers, but this is a must-have purchase for libraries in which the first book is popular." –Betsy Davidson, Cortland Free Library, NY




Finishing School

The Finishing School Series

Etiquette & Espionage (1) & Curtsies & Conspiracies (2) & Waistcoats & Weaponry (3) & Manners & Mutiny (4)

The Finishing School series is set in the same world as the Parasol Protectorate, only 25 years earlier, and features a finishing academy located in a giant caterpillar-like dirigible floating over Dartmoor in which young ladies are taught to . . . finish . . . everything . . . and everyone . . . as needed. There is steampunk etiquette! There is well-dressed espionage! There are mechanical sausage dogs named Bumbersnoot. Etiquette & Espionage, Curtsies & Conspiracies and the three first books as a series were all New York Times bestsellers!Waistcoats & Weaponry won Steampunk Chronicle’s 2015 Reader’s Choice Award for Best Young Adult Steampunk Fiction.

Finishing School book trailer!

You can purchase the Finishing School books online, or from your local brick & mortar

Below are some free printable pdfs for teachers, librarians, parents, and other interested parties.

Etiquette & Espionage Reading Guide and Vocabulary List

* Reading Guide ~ includes fun activities, discussion questions, Common Core details
* Extensive Vocabulary List

With grateful thanks to Elizabeth Schwartz, primary author of both. And to Ray Frankum for the assist.

Finishing School Educator's Guide

*Educator's Guide ~ Little Brown's complete guide to the Finishing School books.


Gail's top three favorite things from Etiquette & Espionage?
1. Flying trifle 2. Flying mechanimal sausage dogs 3. Flying cheese pie


Etiquette & Espionage Blurb

It's one thing to learn to curtsy properly. It's quite another to learn to curtsy and throw a knife at the same time. Welcome to Finishing School.

Fourteen-year-old Sophronia is a great trial to her poor mother. Sophronia is more interested in dismantling clocks and climbing trees than proper manners--and the family can only hope that company never sees her atrocious curtsy. Mrs. Temminnick is desperate for her daughter to become a proper lady. So she enrolls Sophronia in Mademoiselle Geraldine's Finishing Academy for Young Ladies of Quality. 

But Sophronia soon realizes the school is not quite what her mother might have hoped. At Mademoiselle Geraldine's, young ladies learn to finish...everything. Certainly, they learn the fine arts of dance, dress, and etiquette, but the also learn to deal out death, diversion, and espionage--in the politest possible ways, of course. Sophronia and her friends are in for a rousing first year's education.

Finishing School: Lesson 1

Set in the same world as the Parasol Protectorate, this YA series debut is filled with all the saucy adventure and droll humor Gail's legions of fans have come to adore. 

(Industry press announcement and Gail's blog post.)



Curtsies & Conspiracies, Book the Second of the Finishing School series

Curtsies & Conspiracies Blurb

Does one need four fully grown foxgloves for decorating a dinner table for six guests? Or is it six foxgloves to kill four fully grown guests?

Sophronia's first year at Mademoiselle Geraldine's Finishing Academy for Young Ladies of Quality has certainly been rousing! For one thing, finishing school is training her to be a spy--won't Mumsy be surprised? Furthermore, Sophronia got mixed up in an intrigue over a stolen device and had a cheese pie thrown at her in a most horrid display of poor manners.

Now, as she sneaks around the dirigible school, eavesdropping on the teachers' quarters and making clandestine climbs to the ship's boiler room, she learns that there may be more to a field trip to London than is apparent at first. A conspiracy is afoot--one with dire implications for both supernaturals and humans. Sophronia must rely on her training to discover who is behind the dangerous plot-and survive the London Season with a full dance card.

In this sequel to New York Times bestselling Etiquette & Espionage, class is back in session with more petticoats and poison, tea trays and treason. Gail's distinctive voice, signature humor, and lush steampunk setting are sure to be the height of fashion this season.

The incredible music video!

6 Questions About Curtsies & Conspiracies, Answered!
The C&C book tour, in retrospect

Waistcoats & Weaponry, Book the Third of the Finishing School series.

Waistcoats & Weaponry Blurb

Class is back in session....

Sophronia continues her second year at finishing school in style--with a steel-bladed fan secreted in the folds of her ball gown, of course. Such a fashionable choice of weapon comes in handy when Sophronia, her best friend Dimity, sweet sootie Soap, and the charming Lord Felix Mersey hijack a suspiciously empty train to return their chum Sidheag to her werewolf pack in Scotland. But when Sophronia discovers they are being trailed by a dirigible of Picklemen and flywaymen, she unearths a plot that threatens to throw all of London into chaos. With her friends in mortal danger, Sophronia must sacrifice what she holds most dear--her freedom.

Gather your poison, your steel-tipped quill, and the rest of your school supplies and join Mademoiselle Geraldine's proper young killing machines in the third rousing installment in the New York Times bestselling Finishing School series by steampunk author Gail Carriger.

Waistcoats & Weaponry won Steampunk Chronicle’s 2015 Reader’s Choice Award for Best Young Adult Steampunk Fiction!


Manners & Mutiny, Book the Last in the Finishing School series.
Coming November 3, 2015!

Manners & Mutiny Blurb

If one must flirt...flirt with danger.

Lessons in the art of espionage aboard Mademoiselle Geraldine's floating dirigible have become tedious without Sophronia's sweet sootie Soap nearby. She would much rather be using her skills to thwart the dastardly Picklemen, yet her concerns about their wicked intentions are ignored, and now she's not sure whom to trust. What does the brusque werewolf dewan know? On whose side is the ever-stylish vampire Lord Akeldama? Only one thing is certain: a large-scale plot is under way, and when it comes to fruition, Sophronia must be ready to save her friends, her school, and all of London from disaster--in decidedly dramatic fashion, of course.

What will become of our proper young heroine when she puts her years of training to the test? Find out in this highly anticipated and thrilling conclusion to the New York Times bestselling Finishing School series!

Whether you aspire to be an assassin for the Queen, spy for supernaturals, or simply conquer the Empire, Mademoiselle Geraldine’s Finishing Academy prepares graduates for a wide range of career possibilities. 

Cover Art

Omnibus curtsies waistcoats waistcoats

Read about the Etiquette & Espionage cover

Read about the Curtsies & Conspiracies cover

Gail's fashion blog covers vintage items that match Curtsies & Conspiracies

She also posts about the Robe à Transformation featured in Curtsies & Conspiracies.

(This not a manga but the translation of the books into Japanese.)

Read about the Japanese cover art for Curtsies & Conspiracies here!