Gail Carriger PhotoGail Carriger's Brass ParasolGail Carriger
Please Enable Javascript!

Release Dates, Foreign Editions, & Translations

North American Release Dates ~ Little, Brown Books for Young Readers US

Etiquette & Espionage ~ Feb. 5, 2013
Curtsies & Conspiracies ~ Nov. 5, 2013
Waistcoats & Weaponry ~ Nov. 4, 2014
Manners & Mutiny ~ Nov. 3, 2015

Foreign Rights

UK Commonwealth ~ Little Brown Books for Young Readers
Etiquette & Espionage ~ Feb. 5, 2013
Curtsies & Conspiracies ~ Nov. 5, 2013
Waistcoats & Weaponry ~ Nov. 4, 2014
Manners & Mutiny ~ Nov. 3, 2015

Croatia ~ Skolska knjiga, Lumen imprint, Zagreb
Etiquette & Espionage ~ release date unknown

Czech Republic ~ Albatros Media/CooBoo imprint, Prague
Etiquette & Espionage ~ release date unknown
Curtsies & Conspiracies ~ release date unknown

e&ejapan

Japan ~ Hayakawa
Etiquette & Espionage ~ out
Curtsies & Conspiracies ~ out
Waistcoats & Weaponry ~ out now

Slovakia ~ Albatros Media/CooBoo imprint, Bratislava
Etiquette & Espionage ~ release date unknown
Curtsies & Conspiracies ~ release date unknown

Turkey ~ Recently signed, more information to come
Etiquette & Espionage ~ release date unknown
Curtsies & Conspiracies ~ release date unknown

Other Territories . . .

 


Finishing School Extra Bits

The Finishing School book trailer!

* 12 Days of Finishing School

* Etiquette & Espionage ~ Miscellany & Minutia

* 10 Questions About Etiquette & Espionage, Answered

Food

* Etiquette & Espionage ~ FAQ the Second

* Etiquette & Espionage ~ On NYT

* Etiquette & Espionage ~ Reviews & Praise

Money

* Etiquette & Espionage ~ The Cover Copy!

* Etiquette & Espionage ~ Book Trailer & Tumbler

* Etiquette & Espionage ~ Reviews versus 1872 Godey's Reviews

The Curtsies & Conspiracies music video!

* Curtsies & Conspiracies Music Video ~ Behind the Scenes

* 6 Questions About Curtsies & Conspiracies ~ Answered

MONEY

* Curtsies & Conspiracies ~Release Blog Post

* Curtsies & Conspiracies ~ Pre Release and FAQ Info

VIEW

* Sophronia's Moors (featuring Gail's photos of Dartmoor)

* Waistcoats & Weaponry ~ Peek at Sophronia's Dress Design Process


Praise for the Finishing School Series

Etiquette & Espionage

"Carriger's YA debut brings her mix of Victorian paranormal steampunk and winning heroines to a whole new audience...with cleverly Victorian methods of espionage, witty banter, lighthearted silliness, and a ship full of intriguingly quirky people."
~ Booklist (starred review)

"Carriger deploys laugh-out-loud bon mots on nearly every page...Amid all the fun, the author works in commentary on race and class in a sparkling start to the Finishing School series."
~ Publishers Weekly (starred review)

"[A] delightfully madcap espionage adventure..."
~ Kirkus Reviews (starred review)

"Blending intrigue and elements of the school story, Carriger introduces teen readers to a supernatural-meets-steampunk world full of action and wit."
~ Horn Book

Curtsies & Conspiracies

"Fans of Etiquette & Espionage (Little, Brown, 2013) know that Mademoiselle Geraldine’s Finishing Academy for Young Ladies of Quality is not your typical boarding school. Sophronia is now in her second year of training as a spy and has established herself as one of the top recruits, at least in terms of espionage, and her suspicious nature continues to drive her as she uses her skills and training to uncover the true reason behind the school trip to London. Carriger does not reintroduce characters or give any backstory; instead she jumps right into the thick of the action, developing a fast-paced plot that is sure to keep readers’ attention as Sophronia discovers a conspiracy involving a technology that will affect vampires, werewolves, and humans alike. New characters and the introduction of boys onto a floating airship full of teenage girls gives this adventure/mystery an interesting steampunk twist. As in the first novel, the true-to-the-period language may slow down some readers, but this is a must-have purchase for libraries in which the first book is popular." –Betsy Davidson, Cortland Free Library, NY

 

 

 


Finishing School

The Finishing School Series

Etiquette & Espionage (1) & Curtsies & Conspiracies (2) & Waistcoats & Weaponry (3) & Manners & Mutiny (4) Nov. 3, 2015

The Finishing School series is set in the same world as the Parasol Protectorate, only 25 years earlier, and features a finishing academy located in a giant caterpillar-like dirigible floating over Dartmoor in which young ladies are taught to . . . finish . . . everything . . . and everyone . . . as needed. There is steampunk etiquette! There is well-dressed espionage! There is Victorian fake food. There are mechanical sausage dogs named Bumbersnoot. Etiquette & Espionage, Curtsies & Conspiracies and the three first books as a series were both New York Times bestsellers!Waistcoats & Weaponry won Steampunk Chronicle’s 2015 Reader’s Choice Award for Best Young Adult Steampunk Fiction.

Finishing School book trailer!

You can purchase the Finishing School books online, or from your local brick & mortar


Below are some free printable pdfs for teachers, librarians, parents, and other interested parties.

Etiquette & Espionage Reading Guide and Vocabulary List

* Reading Guide ~ includes fun activities, discussion questions, Common Core details
* Extensive Vocabulary List

With grateful thanks to Elizabeth Schwartz, primary author of both. And to Ray Frankum for the assist.

Finishing School Educator's Guide

* Educator's Guide ~ Little Brown's complete guide to the first three Finishing School books.

 

Gail's top three favorite things from Etiquette & Espionage?
1. Flying trifle 2. Flying mechanimal sausage dogs 3. Flying cheese pie

Omnibus

Etiquette & Espionage Blurb

It's one thing to learn to curtsy properly. It's quite another to learn to curtsy and throw a knife at the same time. Welcome to Finishing School.

Fourteen-year-old Sophronia is a great trial to her poor mother. Sophronia is more interested in dismantling clocks and climbing trees than proper manners--and the family can only hope that company never sees her atrocious curtsy. Mrs. Temminnick is desperate for her daughter to become a proper lady. So she enrolls Sophronia in Mademoiselle Geraldine's Finishing Academy for Young Ladies of Quality. 

But Sophronia soon realizes the school is not quite what her mother might have hoped. At Mademoiselle Geraldine's, young ladies learn to finish...everything. Certainly, they learn the fine arts of dance, dress, and etiquette, but the also learn to deal out death, diversion, and espionage--in the politest possible ways, of course. Sophronia and her friends are in for a rousing first year's education.

Finishing School: Lesson 1


Set in the same world as the Parasol Protectorate, this YA series debut is filled with all the saucy adventure and droll humor Gail's legions of fans have come to adore. 

(Industry press announcement and Gail's blog post.)

 

curtsies

Curtsies & Conspiracies, Book the Second of the Finishing School series

Curtsies & Conspiracies Blurb

Does one need four fully grown foxgloves for decorating a dinner table for six guests? Or is it six foxgloves to kill four fully grown guests?

Sophronia's first year at Mademoiselle Geraldine's Finishing Academy for Young Ladies of Quality has certainly been rousing! For one thing, finishing school is training her to be a spy--won't Mumsy be surprised? Furthermore, Sophronia got mixed up in an intrigue over a stolen device and had a cheese pie thrown at her in a most horrid display of poor manners.

Now, as she sneaks around the dirigible school, eavesdropping on the teachers' quarters and making clandestine climbs to the ship's boiler room, she learns that there may be more to a field trip to London than is apparent at first. A conspiracy is afoot--one with dire implications for both supernaturals and humans. Sophronia must rely on her training to discover who is behind the dangerous plot-and survive the London Season with a full dance card.

In this sequel to New York Times bestselling Etiquette & Espionage, class is back in session with more petticoats and poison, tea trays and treason. Gail's distinctive voice, signature humor, and lush steampunk setting are sure to be the height of fashion this season.

The incredible music video!

6 Questions About Curtsies & Conspiracies, Answered!
The C&C book tour, in retrospect
.

Waistcoats & Weaponry, Book the Third of the Finishing School series.

Waistcoats & Weaponry Blurb

Class is back in session....

Sophronia continues her second year at finishing school in style--with a steel-bladed fan secreted in the folds of her ball gown, of course. Such a fashionable choice of weapon comes in handy when Sophronia, her best friend Dimity, sweet sootie Soap, and the charming Lord Felix Mersey hijack a suspiciously empty train to return their chum Sidheag to her werewolf pack in Scotland. But when Sophronia discovers they are being trailed by a dirigible of Picklemen and flywaymen, she unearths a plot that threatens to throw all of London into chaos. With her friends in mortal danger, Sophronia must sacrifice what she holds most dear--her freedom.

Gather your poison, your steel-tipped quill, and the rest of your school supplies and join Mademoiselle Geraldine's proper young killing machines in the third rousing installment in the New York Times bestselling Finishing School series by steampunk author Gail Carriger.

Waistcoats & Weaponry won Steampunk Chronicle’s 2015 Reader’s Choice Award for Best Young Adult Steampunk Fiction!

 

Manners & Mutiny final cover art still to come!

Manners & Mutiny, Book the Last in the Finishing School series.
Coming November 3, 2015!

Manners & Mutiny temp Blurb

When a dastardly Pickleman plot comes to fruition, only Sophronia can save her friends, her school, and all of London...but at what cost? Our proper young heroine puts her training and skills to the test in this highly anticipated conclusion of the rousing, intriguing, and always polished New York Times bestselling Finishing School series!




Out today, book one of the Custard Protocol—a new series from author of the bestselling Finishing School and Parasol Protectorate series!

When Prudence Alessandra Maccon Akeldama (“Rue” to her friends) is bequeathed an unexpected dirigible, she does what any sensible female under similar circumstances would do – she christens it the Spotted Custard and floats off to India.

But danger lies directly in her path and Rue must rely on her good breeding – and her metanatural abilities – to get to the bottom of it all…

Start reading here, or purchase it from your favorite retailer.

Amazon | Barnes & Noble | Google  | iBooks | Indiebound  



Cover Art

Omnibus curtsies waistcoats

Read about the Etiquette & Espionage cover!

Read about the Curtsies & Conspiracies cover!

Gail's fashion blog covers vintage items that match Curtsies & Conspiracies

She also posts about the Robe à Transformation featured in Curtsies & Conspiracies.


(This not a manga but the translation of the books into Japanese.)

Read about the Japanese cover art for Curtsies & Conspiracies here!