Gail Carriger PhotoGail Carriger's Brass ParasolGail Carriger
Please Enable Javascript!

Release Dates, Foreign Editions, & Translations

North American Release Dates ~ Little, Brown Books for Young Readers US

Etiquette & Espionage ~ Feb. 5, 2013
Curtsies & Conspiracies ~ Nov. 5, 2013
Waistcoats & Weaponry ~ unknown
Manners & Mutiny ~ unknown

Foreign Rights

UK Commonwealth ~ Little Brown Books for Young Readers
Etiquette & Espionage ~ Feb. 5, 2013
Curtsies & Conspiracies ~ Nov. 5, 2013
Waistcoats & Weaponry ~ unknown
Manners & Mutiny ~ unknown

e&ejapan

Japan ~ Hayakawa
Etiquette & Espionage ~ out now
Curtsies & Conspiracies ~ release date unknown

Croatian ~ Skolska knjiga, Lumen imprint, Zagreb
Etiquette & Espionage ~ release date unknown

Czech ~ Albatros Media/CooBoo imprint, Prague
Etiquette & Espionage ~ release date unknown
Curtsies & Conspiracies ~ release date unknown

Slovakian ~ Albatros Media/CooBoo imprint, Bratislava
Etiquette & Espionage ~ release date unknown
Curtsies & Conspiracies ~ release date unknown

Turkish ~ Recently signed, more information to come
Etiquette & Espionage ~ release date unknown
Curtsies & Conspiracies ~ release date unknown

Other Territories . . .

 


Finishing School Extra Bits

The Finishing School book trailer!

* 12 Days of Finishing School

* Etiquette & Espionage ~ Miscellany & Minutia

* 10 Questions About Etiquette & Espionage, Answered

Food

* Etiquette & Espionage ~ FAQ the Second

* Etiquette & Espionage ~ On NYT

* Etiquette & Espionage ~ Reviews & Praise

Money

* Etiquette & Espionage ~ The Cover Copy!

* Etiquette & Espionage ~ Book Trailer & Tumbler

* Etiquette & Espionage ~ Reviews versus 1872 Godey's Reviews

The Curtsies & Conspiracies music video!

* Curtsies & Conspiracies Music Video ~ Behind the Scenes

* 6 Questions About Curtsies & Conspiracies, Answered

MONEY

* Curtsies & Conspiracies Release Blog Post

* Curtsies & Conspiracies Pre Release and FAQ Info

VIEW

* Sophronia's Moors (featuring Gail's photos of Dartmoor)


Praise for the Finishing School Series

Etiquette & Espionage

"Carriger's YA debut brings her mix of Victorian paranormal steampunk and winning heroines to a whole new audience...with cleverly Victorian methods of espionage, witty banter, lighthearted silliness, and a ship full of intriguingly quirky people."
~ Booklist (starred review)

"Carriger deploys laugh-out-loud bon mots on nearly every page...Amid all the fun, the author works in commentary on race and class in a sparkling start to the Finishing School series."
~ Publishers Weekly (starred review)

"[A] delightfully madcap espionage adventure..."
~ Kirkus Reviews (starred review)

"Blending intrigue and elements of the school story, Carriger introduces teen readers to a supernatural-meets-steampunk world full of action and wit."
~ Horn Book

Curtsies & Conspiracies

"Fans of Etiquette & Espionage (Little, Brown, 2013) know that Mademoiselle Geraldine’s Finishing Academy for Young Ladies of Quality is not your typical boarding school. Sophronia is now in her second year of training as a spy and has established herself as one of the top recruits, at least in terms of espionage, and her suspicious nature continues to drive her as she uses her skills and training to uncover the true reason behind the school trip to London. Carriger does not reintroduce characters or give any backstory; instead she jumps right into the thick of the action, developing a fast-paced plot that is sure to keep readers’ attention as Sophronia discovers a conspiracy involving a technology that will affect vampires, werewolves, and humans alike. New characters and the introduction of boys onto a floating airship full of teenage girls gives this adventure/mystery an interesting steampunk twist. As in the first novel, the true-to-the-period language may slow down some readers, but this is a must-have purchase for libraries in which the first book is popular." –Betsy Davidson, Cortland Free Library, NY

 

 

 


Finishing School

The Finishing School Series

Etiquette & Espionage (1) & Curtsies & Conspiracies (2) & Waistcoats & Weaponry (3) November 4th 2014 & Manners & Mutiny (4) expected in 2015

The Finishing School series is set in the same world as the Parasol Protectorate, only 25 years earlier, and features a finishing academy located in a giant caterpillar-like dirigible floating over Dartmoor in which young ladies are taught to . . . finish . . . everything . . . and everyone . . . as needed. There is steampunk etiquette! There is well-dressed espionage! There is Victorian fake food. There are mechanical sausage dogs named Bumbersnoot. Etiquette & Espionage and Curtsies & Conspiracies were both New York Times bestsellers!

Finishing School book trailer!

You can purchase the Finishing School books online, or from your local brick & mortarIf you would like a signed copy, you can order one from Borderlands Books.


Below are some free printable pdfs for teachers, librarians, parents, and other interested parties.

Etiquette & Espionage Reading Guide and Vocabulary List

* Reading Guide ~ includes fun activities, discussion questions, Common Core details
* Extensive Vocabulary List

With grateful thanks to Elizabeth Schwartz, primary author of both. And to Ray Frankum for the assist.

Finishing School Educator's Guide

* Educator's Guide ~ Little Brown's complete guide to the first three Finishing School books.

 

Gail's top three favorite things from Etiquette & Espionage?
1. Flying trifle 2. Flying mechanimal sausage dogs 3. Flying cheese pie

Omnibus

Etiquette & Espionage Blurb

It's one thing to learn to curtsy properly. It's quite another to learn to curtsy and throw a knife at the same time. Welcome to Finishing School.

Fourteen-year-old Sophronia is a great trial to her poor mother. Sophronia is more interested in dismantling clocks and climbing trees than proper manners--and the family can only hope that company never sees her atrocious curtsy. Mrs. Temminnick is desperate for her daughter to become a proper lady. So she enrolls Sophronia in Mademoiselle Geraldine's Finishing Academy for Young Ladies of Quality. 

But Sophronia soon realizes the school is not quite what her mother might have hoped. At Mademoiselle Geraldine's, young ladies learn to finish...everything. Certainly, they learn the fine arts of dance, dress, and etiquette, but the also learn to deal out death, diversion, and espionage--in the politest possible ways, of course. Sophronia and her friends are in for a rousing first year's education.

Finishing School: Lesson 1


Set in the same world as the Parasol Protectorate, this YA series debut is filled with all the saucy adventure and droll humor Gail's legions of fans have come to adore. 

(Industry press announcement and Gail's blog post.)

 

curtsies

Curtsies & Conspiracies, Book the Second of the Finishing School series, released Nov. 5, 2013.

Curtsies & Conspiracies Blurb

Does one need four fully grown foxgloves for decorating a dinner table for six guests? Or is it six foxgloves to kill four fully grown guests?

Sophronia's first year at Mademoiselle Geraldine's Finishing Academy for Young Ladies of Quality has certainly been rousing! For one thing, finishing school is training her to be a spy--won't Mumsy be surprised? Furthermore, Sophronia got mixed up in an intrigue over a stolen device and had a cheese pie thrown at her in a most horrid display of poor manners.

Now, as she sneaks around the dirigible school, eavesdropping on the teachers' quarters and making clandestine climbs to the ship's boiler room, she learns that there may be more to a field trip to London than is apparent at first. A conspiracy is afoot--one with dire implications for both supernaturals and humans. Sophronia must rely on her training to discover who is behind the dangerous plot-and survive the London Season with a full dance card.

In this sequel to New York Times bestselling Etiquette & Espionage, class is back in session with more petticoats and poison, tea trays and treason. Gail's distinctive voice, signature humor, and lush steampunk setting are sure to be the height of fashion this season.

6 Questions About Curtsies & Conspiracies, Answered!
The C&C book tour, in retrospect
.

The incredible music video!




—Gail Carriger, Finishing School - Book the Second: Curtsies & Conspiracies



Cover Art

Omnibus curtsies waistcoats

Read about the Etiquette & Espionage cover!

Read about the Curtsies & Conspiracies cover!

Gail's fashion blog covers vintage items that match Curtsies & Conspiracies

She also posts about the Robe à Transformation featured in Curtsies & Conspiracies.


(
This not a manga but the translation of the books into Japanese.)

Read about the Japanese cover art for Curtsies & Conspiracies here!