Presskit

Gail Carriger's Latest

Title: Defy or Defend

Series: Delightfully Deadly (Dimity's Book)

Author: Gail Carriger

Publication date: May 3 2020

Publisher: GAIL CARRIGER LLC

ISBN: ebook 9781944751302 print 9781944751432

Retail price: $4.99/$15.99

Available In: ebook | trade paperback | audio

Genre: Steampunk Comedy of Manners

Synopsis:

Dimity’s book, Defy or Defend, is coming May 3, 2020!

A vampire hive descending into madness. A beautiful spy with a sparkly plan. The bodyguard who must keep them from killing each other.

New York Times bestselling author Gail Carriger brings you a charming story of love, espionage, and Gothic makeovers set in her popular Parasolverse.

SPY

Dimity Plumleigh-Teignmott, code name Honey Bee, is the War Office’s best and most decorative fixer. She’s sweet and chipper, but oddly stealthy, and surprisingly effective given the right incentives.

VERSUS KNIGHT

Sir Crispin Bontwee was knighted for his military service, but instead of retiring, he secretly went to work for the War Office. Mostly he enjoys his job, except when he must safeguard the Honey Bee.

Neither of them are vampire experts, but when Nottingham Hive goes badly Goth, only Dimity can stop their darkness from turning bloody. And only Crispin can stop an enthusiastic Dimity from death by vampire.

In a battle for survival (and wallpaper), Dimity must learn that not all that sparkles is good, while Cris discovers he likes honey a great deal more than he thought.

“This intoxicatingly witty parody will appeal to a wide cross-section of romance, fantasy and steampunk fans.” ~ Publishers Weekly, starred review (Soulless)

Spinning off from the Finishing School series, featuring deadly ladies of quality, this story stands alone but chronologically follows Poison or Protect. It’s Cold Comfort Farm meets Queer Eye meets What We Do In The Shadows from the author of the Parasol Protectorate books, perfect for fans of Julia Quinn, Jodi Taylor, or Meljean Brook.

Delicate Sensibilities?

Contains fraternizing vampires and one very curious young lady, who asks about it, sometimes in detail but mostly in retrospect. May also involve excessive use of velvet, melodramatic poetry, and the strategic application of interpretive ballet.

Current Bio

Gail Carriger has multiple NYT bestsellers and over a million books in print in dozens of different languages. She writes comedies of manners mixed with urban fantasy (and sexy queer joy as G. L. Carriger). Her best known books include the Parasol Protectorate and Finishing School series. She was once an archaeologist and is fond of shoes, octopuses, and tea.


Hi-Res Photos for Download

Headshot

Photo by Vanessa Applegate

Download Photo

Steampunk Cosplay

Photo by J. Daniel Sawyer

Download Photo
Would you like to interview Gail? Are you a reviewer interested in her next self published work?
Please drop us a calling card.
© 2020 Gail Carriger | Disclaimer & Privacy Policy | Site built by Todd Jackson